Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other subscribers

MN Vikings Tweets

Bleacher Report – Vikings

Adrian Peterson the lone Vikings player voted into the Pro Bowl

By Andrew Krammer

Adrian Peterson has been voted into his seventh Pro Bowl in his ninth season.

Peterson, the NFL’s leading rusher, is also leading a likely playoff-bound Vikings (9-5) team benefiting from his historical season. With two games left, Peterson already has the 14th-best single season by a running back 30 or older in NFL history. His 1,314 rushing yards are more than any other player in the league through 14 weeks.

He’s the only Vikings player voted into the all-star competition.

Injuries damaged strong campaigns from a trio of Vikings defenders in safety Harrison Smith, nose tackle Linval Joseph and linebacker Anthony Barr. All three have been held out, or missed significant time, in each of the last three games, coinciding with ballots being cast by players and coaches across the country for a collective two-thirds of the vote. Fan voting has been open since October.

Joseph is perhaps the Vikings’ biggest snub, who has also been held out since injuring his foot on Nov. 29. With Joseph healthy, the Vikings held five of their first seven opponents to under 100 yards rushing. Defensive end Everson Griffen and his 8.5 sacks could’ve also garnered consideration.

The Pro Bowl no longer assigns by conference, so four of the six defensive tackles (Carolina’s Kawann Short, Cincinnati’s Geno Atkins, Tampa Bay’s Gerald McCoy, Philadelphia’s Fletcher Cox, Arizona’s Calais Campbell and St. Louis’ Aaron Donald) came from the NFC. Four of the six defensive ends (Jets’ Muhammad Wilkerson, Patriots’ Chandler Jones, Texans’ J.J. Watt, Lions’ Ziggy Ansah, Raiders’ Khalil Mack and Seahawks’ Michael Bennett) came from the AFC.

Kick returner Cordarrelle Patterson did not get much love for his league-leading, 31.1-yard return average and two returns for touchdowns. He did not make the cut over the Eagles’ Darren Sproles and the Seahawks’ Tyler Lockett. Patterson was a Pro Bowl returner as a rookie in 2013.

The Vikings did not have anybody voted into the Pro Bowl last season.

The post Adrian Peterson the lone Vikings player voted into the Pro Bowl appeared first on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.

Source:: 1500 ESPN Sportswire

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>