Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

MN Vikings Tweets

Bleacher Report – Vikings

Vikings make final cuts, announce 53-man roster

The Vikings made the final preparation for the regular season Saturday, when the team announced it trimmed its roster to 53 players.

We’ll list the players cut first, followed by the current 53-man roster.

Players waived (19):

TE Colin Anderson, RB Joe Banyard, S Brandan Bishop, OL Travis Bond, CB Brandon Burton, WR Stephen Burton, DT Everett Dawkins, S Darius Eubanks, CB Bobby Felder, TE Chase Ford, OL Brandon Keith, DT Anthony McCloud, LB Tyrone McKenzie, OL Kevin Murphy, DT Spencer Nealy, DE D’Aundre Reed, WR Rodney Smith, WR Adam Thielen, DE Collins Ukwu.

In addition, the Vikings also made five roster moves with players who remain on the team but won’t count, for now, against the roster. This includes guard Seth Olsen (injured reserve); fullback Jerome Felton (NFL suspension); tackle DeMarcus Love (NFL suspension); wide receiver Greg Childs (physically unable to perform list); and defensive tackle Christian Ballard (left squad).

The Vikings will announce their eight-man practice squad on Sunday.

Here is the 53-man roster as of Saturday evening.

Quarterbacks (3)

Christian Ponder, Matt Cassel, McLeod Bethel-Thompson

Running backs (4)

Adrian Peterson, Toby Gerhart, Matt Asiata, Zach Line

Wide receivers (5)

Greg Jennings, Jerome Simpson, Cordarrelle Patterson, Jarius Wright, Joe Webb

Tight ends (3)

Kyle Rudolph, John Carlson, Rhett Ellison

Offensive linemen (8)

Matt Kalil, Charlie Johnson, John Sullivan, Brandon Fusco, Phil Loadholt, Jeff Baca, Joe Berger, Troy Kropog.

Defensive linemen (9)

Brian Robison, Kevin Williams, Letroy Guion, Jared Allen, Everson Griffen, Sharrif Floyd, Fred Evans, Chase Baker, George Johnson

Linebackers (8)

Chad Greenway, Erin Henderson, Desmond Bishop, Marvin Mitchell, Audie Cole, Larry Dean, Gerald Hodges, Mike Mauti

Defensive backs (10)

Chris Cook, Josh Robinson, Xavier Rhodes, A.J. Jefferson, Marcus Sherels, Harrison Smith, Jamarca Sanford, Mistral Raymond, Andrew Sendejo, Robert Blanton

Kicker (1)

Blair Walsh

Punter (1)

Jeff Locke

Long snapper (1)

Cullen Loeffler


Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>